Rathgarve Parish Barony of Fore Co Westmeath has 27 townlands within its boundary why does Open STreet MAp say it has 26 ? Perhaps they forgot about Ballynagall someone should tell BrianBoru.Regards Bill

asked 15 Jun '21, 21:52

bill%20ryan's gravatar image

bill ryan
accept rate: 0%

Almost certainly because the townland appears on GSGS 3906 as a single entity, rather than two split by parish, and has therefore been mapped as such. It's a fairly simple operation to split townlands which cross parish boundaries in most GIS tools, but it may now be difficult to do on townlands.ie.

permanent link

answered 15 Jun '21, 22:57

SK53's gravatar image

SK53 ♦
accept rate: 22%

Also the townland of Deerpark looks as though it should be split between Rathgarve and St. Feighins rather than being entirely in Rathgarve.

(15 Jun '21, 23:07) SK53 ♦
Your answer
toggle preview

Follow this question

By Email:

Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here



Answers and Comments

Markdown Basics

  • *italic* or _italic_
  • **bold** or __bold__
  • link:[text](http://url.com/ "title")
  • image?![alt text](/path/img.jpg "title")
  • numbered list: 1. Foo 2. Bar
  • to add a line break simply add two spaces to where you would like the new line to be.
  • basic HTML tags are also supported

Question tags:


question asked: 15 Jun '21, 21:52

question was seen: 391 times

last updated: 15 Jun '21, 23:07

Related questions

powered by OSQA